Sweet Slow Cooker Roasted Almonds

I impressed a lot of loved ones with this slow-cooked concoction. They’re great, budget conscious holiday gifts. But first, let me tell you about my history with cinnamon roasted nuts.

After a Maroon 5 concert circa summer 2010, I was walking a great distance with my friends back to our car. I was famished, as all people are after a concert, due to steeply inflated prices at the concert venue. On the dusty, beaten field of grass, one member of my party spotted an abandoned, full package of dirty, but unopened roasted nuts. He promptly picked them up and began eating them. I was half disgusted, half disappointed I hadn’t grabbed them first.

Getting tasty roasted cinnamon sugar treats shouldn’t be this complicated. So, now I will show you how to make them in a crock pot.

Sweet Slow Cooker Roasted Almonds
Makes 3 cups

1 and 1/2 cup sugar
1 and 1/2 cup brown sugar
3 tablespoons cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 egg white
2 teaspoon vanilla
3 cups almonds
1/4 cup water

Pour sugars, cinnamon, and salt into base of slow cooker. Mix until evenly combined throughout. In a separate bowl, whisk egg white with vanilla. Add almonds and stir until all almonds are coated with egg wash.

Pour almonds into slow cooker and stir with sugar mixture.

Cook almonds in slow cooker for 4 hours on low heat, stirring well every 20 minutes. When 1 hour of cook time remains, pour water into slow cooker and mix thoroughly.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and spread cooked almonds to cool.

Recipe from Detrimental Beauty.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Slow Cooker Roasted Almonds

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

