Best Cobbler You’ve Ever Had

Okay, okay. David is saying I can’t tell you it’s the best cobbler YOU’VE ever had. I’ll just tell you it’s the best cobbler HE and I’VE ever had. (But if you have eaten a better one, you better be sending your girl Rach the recipe! Don’t hold out on me.)

Best Cobbler You’ve I’ve Ever Had
Serves 12

1 box yellow cake mix
1/3 cup butter
2 large eggs
29 ounces canned (or fresh!) peaches
8 ounces cream cheese
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large bowl, combine cake mix, butter, and 1 egg. Mix ingredients with fork until crumbly. Separate 1/2 cup of crumble for topping.

Spray a 9×13 glass dish with cooking spray. Using a spoon or your fingers, press remaining crumble into base of dish.

Bake for 10 minutes. While crust bakes, slice peaches into small, 1 inch pieces.

In a small bowl, beat together cream cheese, sugar, 1 egg, and vanilla until creamy. Layer peaches on top of baked crust. Spread cream cheese mixture on top of peaches.

Top with reserved crumbs and bake for 30 minutes. Allow to cool for 30 additional minutes and serve with vanilla ice cream. I didn’t even mention how versatile this dish is. Try with other fruits – perhaps blackberries, lemon pie filling, or something crazy like pineapple. (Shout out to pafurkin for the ideas down in the comments section.)

Check out some other bangin’ desserts like Nutella Pretzel BrowniesNew England Blueberry Slump, or The Secret to the Softest Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever.

Modified from Just a Pinch.

46 thoughts on “Best Cobbler You’ve Ever Had

  1. What is yellow cake mix? If I could work out what it is I could give this a go, perfect for summer. GG

  2. I’ve made this, but my kids prefer it with pineapple, and it’s fabulous. I’ve also made it with blackberries, and lemon pie filling, lol, it’s so versatile!

  3. My mother made something similar when we were growing up except she just used two cans of apple pie filling, one box of butter cake mix and a stick of butter. Pour the apple (or whatever canned fruit you prefer) into 9X13 in pan and cover with dry cake mix. Melt the butter and drizzle over cake mix. Cook @ 350 for about 20 minutes. Delicious. Sometimes she would add cinnamon over the apples and sometimes pecan pieces in the melted butter. However, I am going to give yours a try because anything with cream cheese is a winner!

    • I’m loving that variation! It reminds me of a recipe I’ve seen going aroudn on Pinterest too. Something with cake mix and 7up to make a cobbler. Hope this one doesn’t disappoint! Thanks for your comment.

      Love,
      rach

  4. Just cooked this for my family tonight. THANK YOU. It was incredibly delicious and filling. This has been branded in my recipe book forever. Again, thank you so much for posting this!

  5. I made this tonight and it was “best ever”! Easy and soooo good. However I did double the cake mix part so I could have more of the crumb mix on top (maybe I used the wrong size pan).

  6. This is not only the best peach cobbler I’ve ever had but it is the BEST BEST BEST recipe from pinterest that I’ve ever had. Oh yeah it is THAT good.

  7. I have this in the oven right now, except I used cherry pie filling instead of peaches and almond extract instead of vanilla. It looks and smells fantastic so far! The only thing is I wish I would have reserved more than just half a cup of crumble for the topping. Now I know for next time!

  8. My Family loved this recipe , but personally I thought it was too goopy so I made my own adjustments :
    1. Instead of forming the entire box of cake mix into the crumbly mixture just use half the box with the butter and egg . Bake it for 15 minutes to cook the cake thoroughly since the amount of cake mix is cut .
    2. For the “filling” use 4oz of cream cheese (half a bar) the same about of regular sugar , vanilla , and egg but add a fourth of a cup of powdered sugar . Mix until smooth .
    3. Once that’s combined add the peaches to the cream cheese mixture . Coat the peaches then pour the mixture into the cake crust .
    4. Take the other half of unused cake mix , and spread it atop the peaches and cream cheese mixture .
    5. Melt 4 tablespoons of butter and pour it evenly across the dish .
    6. Bake for 30 minutes at 350 or until golden brown .
    7. Serve immediately with ice cream (optional)

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

