Rolo Stuffed Snickerdoodles

What is it about the simple deliciousness of snickerdoodles? Snickerdoodles = childhood. A caramel center is the perfect remix to this classic cookie. And Rolo’s are just the way to do it.

Rolo Stuffed Snickerdoodles
Makes 15 cookies

1 batch store-bought or homemade snickerdoodle dough
2 rolls of Rolo’s (16 candies)

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Flatten 1 tablespoon dough and wrap around Rolo candy. Roll into ball and set on cookie sheet.

Bake for 14 minutes.

This is the littlest effort ever required for a seemingly gourmet cookie.

Oh, and if you like these, then you’ll love The Secret to the Softest Chocolate Chip Cookies Ever, Two Ingredient Lemon Bars, or the Best Cobbler You’ve Ever Had.

63 thoughts on “Rolo Stuffed Snickerdoodles

  1. What receipe do you use for homemade snickerdoodles? My mom has a receipe that tastes great but the cookies always harden too much when they cool.

    • Try adding a tsp of cornstarch. Ive started using it in my chocolate chip cookie recipe and it leaves my cookies a lot fluffier and softer! O, and undercook the cookies by like 1 min. That helps keep them softer.

    • I used a store-bought dough and it stayed quite soft. I’ll put my radar up for a good recipe, though. Thanks for asking this question, I’ve been meaning to find one.

      love,
      Rach

      • I come from the heart of Amish country, and this Amish Snickerdoodle recipe is my favorite!

        1 c. butter, softened
        1 1/2 c. sugar
        2 eggs
        2 3/4 cups flour
        2 tsp. cream of tartar
        1 tsp. baking soda
        1/2 tsp. salt
        Sugar & cinnamon to roll dough

        Cream shortening & sugar. Add eggs and beat well. Sift together flour, cream of tartar, soda and salt. Gradually stir into creamed mixture. Chill dough 2 hours or more (note: I rarely chill the dough!). Form into balls the size of large walnuts. Roll each ball into a mixture of sugar & cinnamon. (The recipe doesn’t list specific amounts of this… just blend it together to suit your own taste.)
        Bake at 400 for about 10 minutes. (Don’t bake them too long or they get too crunch… a good snickerdoodle is nice and soft!)

    • Another tip to keep them soft is to put them in an airtight container, cover them with a peice of waxed paper and put a slice of bread on top, then cover with the lid. I do this all the time. The bread will harden, but the cookies will stay soft. :-)

    • The recipe I use for snickerdoodles just comes from a Betty Crocker cookbook, and they stay nice and soft. But I do cook for the minimum time or even a minute less, as the previous post mentioned.

  2. I refrigerate my (any) homemade dough for a few hours, roll the cookie into a ball, cook 25′ lower and for a few minutes less – they continue to cook when they come out of the oven… they are still golden brown, but always thicker and chewier… works awesome with cocunut macaroons and all sorts of chocolate chip cookies!!!

  3. I just bought the miniature rollos already unwrapped at Target. One ingredient that makes the Snickerdoodle recipe different than a sugar cookie rolled in cinammon sugar is the Cream of Tartar in the dough.

  4. So relieved i’m not the only one that didn’t know what Snickerdoodles were.Was thinking i’d had a deprived childhood :) until l saw the comments.Thanks so much for the recipe,can’t wait to try it on the grandkids yummmmmy .

  5. These were so easy and so delicious! I used sugar cookies as my store was out of snickerdoodles. I also rolled mine in sugar before baking them and they were a huge hit with my family! Thank you for sharing!

  6. I couldn’t wait to make these- my husband loves Rolo’s. I didn’t find Snickerdoodle dough so I uses chocolate chip dough! It was yummy!!! Thanks for the idea

  7. Made these for a gathering yesterday. Used the mini Rollos & Peanut butter cups (makes more, smaller cookies–and no unwrapping) and used sugar cookie dough since it was all that was available. They were a big hit. We couldn’t come to an agreement over which one was better–so that’s a good sign!

  8. Being Scottish, I too didn’t know what a snicker doodle was. But reading through your remarks and comments, and the kind lady who gave the recipe for snicker doodles, I am definitely going to try these out! If they are as delicious as they sound, I will be giving them as home baked gifts!

  9. Making these now using the snickerdoodle recipe posted (meant to add vanilla but forgot) but with Milk Duds instead of Rolos. Hoping they turn out!

  10. I made these but they turned out crispy and all the rolos pretty much oozed out so they stuck to the pan. I did use non stick spray but they still stuck :( I used mini rolos but I’m guessing maybe I didn’t have enough dough around them. Any suggestions? Btw, the couple that did turn out ok were tasty!

  11. i couldn’t find snickerdoodle dough so i bought the regular sugar cookie dough and they turned out amazing. thank you for the yummy idea. i hope you don’t mind i linked you on my fb. :)

  12. Thanks for the great and easy recipe! I rolled mine in extra cinnamon and sugar and they are delish! I also made a second batch with peanut butter cookie dough. They turned out very good too.

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

