Better-Than-Takeout Chicken Fried Rice

Here’s my version of this classic dish – not that I have any claim to being an authority on what is “authentic” Chinese food. I am an authority, however, on what is super incredibly yummy.  This rice gets my stamp of approval, with honors. It’s better than takeout, and you can enjoy skipping all the mysterious, unhealthy parts of fast food.

Better-Than-Takeout Chicken Fried Rice
Serves 5-6

4 cups prepared rice
1/2 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked (I recommend using Slow Cooker Teriyaki Chicken!)
1 cup peas & carrots, frozen
1 small white onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 eggs
3 tablespoons sesame oil
1/4 cup soy sauce

Prepare rice according to package instructions to yield 4 cups cooked rice. Heat sesame oil in a large skillet on medium heat. Add onion, garlic, peas, and carrots.

Stir fry until tender. Crack eggs into pan and scramble, mixing throughout vegetables.

Add rice, chicken, and soy sauce to pan.

Mix soy sauce throughout and remove from heat.

If you’re wanting some more quick or international(ish) dinners, you’ll love Arugula & Red Pear Chicken Quesadillas or Italian Slow Cooker Chicken.

113 thoughts on “Better-Than-Takeout Chicken Fried Rice

  1. This looks like a chicken fried rice I use to make my son and I’ve lost my knack but I’ll start using this one to see if it’s the same!

  2. I just made this for our supper tonight and it is YUMMY! I love Chinese take out, and now I can re-create it at home. I love browsing your recipes, thank you for posting so many delicious things. Looking forward to more recipes in the future!

  3. To make it Thai style, add the spicy red chili sauce (Sriracha) SO GOOD! My fried rice gets RAVES everytime, and I’m asked to bring it to all pot lucks! :)

  4. Have you ever used the olive oil instead of sesame? I also don’t have sesame oil and I am worried it will take away from the flavor.

  5. I love making this at home…. Great way to stretch chicken…. I’ve found that if the rice is made at least a day ahead of time (ESP for brown rice) it doesn’t end up mushy and is more like takeout… I also live to add a little sushi vinegar and oyster sauce :-)

  6. THIS is what’s for dinner tonight! I didn’t have frozen veggies so I used fresh carrots and celery instead of peas. YUM!
    Thanks for sharing.

    • I have always heard that fried rice is best if you use your day old/ leftover rice. I don’t know why, but it always tastes better to us when we make fried rice with the white or brown rice we had left over from a meal earlier in the week. Plus, it’s a way to stretch out the meal plan and change things up a bit. This recipe looks great! I’m putting it on our menu for next week to use up the white rice from Monday’s dinner! Thanks

  7. I made this twice this week my two year old loved it. When we go get takeout my husban always puts sweet and sour on his fried rice. When I made it at home all we had was Thai sweet chili sauce gave it a really great twist :)

  8. Once again…. Awesome recipe! Thank you! Do you know the nutritional value (calories, grams of fat, etc) of the full recipe or a serving? :)

  9. Super delicious! My family loved this and
    my daughter asked for seconds. My husband said we will never get take out Chinese again! Thank you for the awesome recipe!!!

  10. I made this last week for my boyfriend of 6 months. It was the first time that I’ve cooked for him, and now I think I’ll be doing a lot more cooking!

    This recipe is amazing. As you suggested, I made the slow cooker teriyaki chicken to go into the fried rice. I can’t believe how easy this was to make. I also made homemade fortune cookies for dessert.

    I’ll definitely be trying more of your recipes!

  11. Just made this and all I can say is…”how easy!!”. I had everything in my house already, cooked the rice at breakfast and then mixed it all together at lunch.

    I love easy, healthy recipes and this lacks nothing

    Ps-I was lazy and didnt want to cook the chicken, but will make again and try with.

  12. I add fresh ginger and garlic that I add to flavor the oil. I also scramble the eggs ahead of time with some soy sauce. Oh, and a couple of spring onions over the top at service really kicks up the flavor. I’ve also been known to add bok choy, napa cabbage, a can of water chestnuts, sesame seeds…whatever strikes my fancy or that i have hanging in the fridge. i just saute’ the cabbage along with the other veg.

  13. I plan to make this later in the week with leftover pork loin. My aunt gave me a similar recipe, and she said that if you are using just-cooked rice, put it in a casserole dish in the oven while cooking the veggies and eggs to dry it out a bit so that it doesn’t become mushy. I’m going to try that.

  14. That was an awesome recipe! Thanks for sharing. By the way, I used brown rice and it tasted really good. We had plenty of left overs for the next day. Looking forward to having it again.

  15. Great, easy recipe. Plus, the ingredients are stuff I usually have on hand, so it’s a great dinner in a pinch. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  16. Always being pressed for time and having hungry mouths waiting, I discovered a shortcut in making this Fried Rice without compromising the taste. The new frozen rices that are now available in the supermarket’s freezer section work perfectly in this recipe. I have made this recipe several times now, substituting 1 pkg. plain white rice and 1 pkg. vegetable rice for the cooked rice and peas and carrots. To make it a bit healthier, try using one frozen brown rice and one vegetable rice…sooo good! Sure saves a lot of preparation time too! Try it !!!!

  17. I’m so excited to try this!! I make broccoli beef or bourbon chicken a few times a month and always buy takeout rice! I think when I make it though I’m gonna sub the meat for a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies :-) I love love love the lil baby corn lol!!

  18. Anyone know of any substitute for soy sauce? I am allergic to it and prefer to stay away!

    Otherwise the reciepe sounds amazing and we really want to try it tomorrow for dinner!

    • I’ve heard of this soy sauce subsitute but never tried it. Hope it helps.

      4 teaspoons balsamic vinegar
      2 teaspoons unsulphured molasses
      1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
      1 pinch white pepper
      1 pinch garlic powder
      1 1/2 cups organic beef broth or chicken broth
      salt, to taste (if needed)

      xo
      rach

  19. Anyone know of any substitute for soy sauce? I am allergic to it and prefer to stay away!

    Otherwise the reciepe sounds amazing and we really want to try it tomorrow for dinner!

  20. This was Ahh-mazing! Big hit! I doubled everything to make a bigger portion.Everything went! My son couldn’t believe we made this at home!

  21. Sprinkle some chicken boullion granules at the last minute and slightly stir. I learned this from a Japanese friend and it’s great!

  22. Hey Rachel, I just wanted to say I love your blog! I made your teriyaki chicken today for the chicken fried rice, both are amazing, and I’m making your slow cooker Italian chicken recipe which looks wonderful later this week! Keep it up!

  23. My mom used to make something like this for us when I was little, now I can make it myself!! I’d probably add some water chestnuts and maybe some bean sprouts, but this is a great recipe, thanks for sharing!!

  24. This was SO good. I halved the recipe because I’m only cooking for one, and it was perfect! Thank you so much, this will definitely be a regular item!

  25. Just tried this dish tonight! We loved it, and i knew it was a hit when our one year old loved it as well…. will be doing this dish from now on. ps everyone should try its soo easy

  26. Interesting take on Fried Rice… I have done it differently having learned a few secrets from my father who spent many years in the Far East, and a number of other friends who were of Oriental descent. This was not bad for a quickie dish. Hint: try letting the rice cool uncovered in a refrigerator overnight, stirring often to allow to dry somewhat. Then add soy sauce gradually, allowing steam to dissipate each time — allows the flavors to seep in while caramelizing the rice grains. Cook egg separately, cutting fragments, cook veggies and meats the same, adding to rice to reheat along with egg strips.

  27. Big thumbs up! I did make a few adjustments for what I had on hand. Fresh broccoli and corn. Brown rice and reduced sodium soy sauce. Great reciepe.

  28. Awesome fried rice, thank you! We substitute the rice with shirataki rice as the no carb version and it’s fantastic!

  29. Howdy! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give
    a quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy
    reading through your blog posts. Can you suggest any other
    blogs/websites/forums that go over the same
    topics? Thanks a lot!

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

