Wedding Cake

Telling you we had cupcakes instead of a big, traditional wedding cake is not super cutting edge. In fact, I think the past 4 weddings I have been to all had cupcakes. However, even professionally made ones still require quite a bit of cash. Here’s how we got it done for free!

Ten of our generous, amazing, talented, giving, wonderful friends agreed to each make a batch of 40 cupcakes for the reception. Each chose their own flavor and recipe and I am under the impression our guests found the variety quite refreshing and yummy. For the head table and the classic caking cutting pictures, we bought a small, professionally made cake at a local bakery. Also, I wasn’t about to pass up the tradition of having the top layer to eat on our one year anniversary.

Yeah, and what is UP with the cake topper industry? Why are they charging 100 bucks for those things? And why is it so difficult to get a traditional one and not one with weird like underwater themes or biker couples and skeleton brides or something. We managed to find this classic looking one at Michael’s for $10.

Thanks again to our loving friends who did our cupcakes: Jackie, Emily, Breanna, Lauren, Joy, Ashley, Erica & Alyssa!

One thought on “Wedding Cake

  1.   Cheryl Crbywhas-CanceFeeruary 21, 2011My Gamma Phi Delta Sorority would like to be a participant in the EACH Initiative . Could you send some flyers so I can give some to my members-please. I’m a member of Evangel Ministries and I like to be a part ,

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

