Blueberry & Buttermilk Breakfast Bread

This morning David let us watch Hairspray while I made breakfast and he assembled our new dresser from IKEA.

There’s such a small percentage of my friend population that is willing to watch this movie with me. David offered me an act of great love and sacrifice. I cry every time I watch this movie. I don’t know why. I just love it so much. It’s weird. Anyway, back to the Breakfast Bread.

Blueberry & Buttermilk Breakfast Bread
Serves 6

1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 cups blueberries
1/2 cup buttermilk

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl beat together butter, sugar, egg, and vanilla. In a separate dish, coat blueberries in flour.

Slowly add remaining flour, baking powder, salt, and buttermilk into egg mixture while continuing to mix. Fold blueberries into batter and spread into a 9 inch square pan. Sprinkle 1 tablespoon of extra sugar over top.

Bake for 60 minutes.

Allow to cool for 15 minutes before serving.

Modified from Alexandra’s Kitchen.

6 thoughts on “Blueberry & Buttermilk Breakfast Bread

  1. This blueberry bread looks fabulous! How did it taste? I think blueberries are the perfect food. They remind me of Little Miss Muffetts tuffet. I know that sounds silly, but that’s what I think each time I see one of those plumb little blueberries.

  2. Thanks Rebecca! It was pretty yummy, but I liked it even better when we reheated it for dinner and ate it with vanilla ice cream.

  3. I am not a big blueberry fan but the bread looks great, is there any other fruit that would work well with this recipe?

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

