The Perfection of Beauty

About a year and a half ago, I learned of a Christian rapper named Shai Linne. He is exceptional artistically, but also excellent in theology. In addition to hip-hop, he dabbles in spoken word, which I was never a fan of – until him. Here his wife, Blair, performs a track she is featured in on Shai’s new album, The Attributes of God.

Christian hip-hop is a fascinating notion because it reminds me of myself. Perhaps moreso than any other genre today, rap is associated with glorifying evil. God is redeeming a music scene that is otherwise depraved and corrupted. Similarly, God chose me, horribly selfish and sinful, and now uses me to exalt Him, share the Gospel, and magnify the infinite worth of Jesus.

What God did with a genre, he also did to my life.

Shai Linne’s other albums are The Atonement, The Solus Christus Project, and Storiez.

A voice for the people. Comments make me happy.

